Lameriana is a small village at 60m altitude that is estimated to have been created in the 12th century. According to literature sources, the settlement is considered to be a “metoxi”, meaning that its location on a hill and the immense visibility up to the sea was served as an observatory for the pirates in the venetian times (1204-1669). During the Turkish occupation (1669-1890), it is possible that some buildings were officers' homes. The first name of the village was Lemeriana and only in 1928, we find the current name Lameriana. In 1900 the village had 102 habitants, and in the followings years the population started to decline. In 1920 the population census showed 43 persons living in the village, while in 1940 and 1951 Lameriana did not exist on the list of census settlements of Greece. In 1961, 27 people were living in the village. Some years later, Lameriana was an abandoned stone village. In 2010 it was characterized as a “traditional settlement” on behalf of the traditional Cretan architecture and the harmony between the nature and the architectural style of buildings. Today, some of the ex-abandoned houses are totally restored with care and respect. Now they are fully renovated to a tourist accommodation and considered as a paradise in the middle of Cretan nature. The suites combine both tradition as well as modern architectural elements. While the location offers many opportunities for a wonderful time.
We welcome you to discover Lameriana Village!
Before the restoration After the restoration